Withlacoochee North Florida

   

I was excited to spend some time with my uncles up in North Florida! Never really had the opportunity to before so I ended up spending a week there! We had a great time just hanging out doing some hiking, canoeing on the river and checking out a couple places in the area. I was there for thw new year!
    
  
   

  

  

  


   

  

  

  


   

    

  
After being away from Florida for so long I was able to see it differently once I returned. I noticed all the sand more than I would have before, and how quickly things rot away. Good lord there’s so much sand, since the Ghia has giant holes in the floor pans I was almost always covered in sand that was scooping in and blowing around. Before I flew out I put the Ghia on the lift to wash the sand out and it had scooped at least a three gallon buckets worth of sand in there!

   It was raining while I was at my uncles quite a bit and their road gets pretty muddy! I sure graded the road on the way out!
 
In Gainseville I met with some friends and stayed in their scary camper! It’s an old Avion, I didn’t think it was so scary.

   

  
  
   
 I actually missed these swamp puppies! No fence, just don’t get too close! These were at Paines Prarie.

   
  This is a massive century oak! A tree trunk sized branch already fell off of this tree and it’s still massive.

   
Debary, Fl now has a brewery! Central 28 Beer Company lets the disc golf guys have a putting tournament every Thursday night! They have great beer and a giant jenga thing. It was nice being back where I grew up but I’m pretty set that the Yetibus is home. Sure do miss everyone!

    
Time for an oil change! And a pressure wash.

   
Goodbye Florida!

4 thoughts on “Withlacoochee North Florida

      1. Oh right on, it had also just rained and was overcast so that probably added to the eerie feel. There are tons of those clear springs all over north Florida and the water is too cold for the gators there so it’s pretty safe to swim in the springs at least. They are pretty rare on the Withlacoochie too. I don’t like swimming in the lakes or in the St. John’s River though! The Spanish moss does really adds to the eerie feel though!! Thanks for checking out the blog.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment